~Frustration!!

Hi Everyone! I'm new to soy candle making, I started 2 months ago. I don't understand how there is not a specific formula to follow to do this!! I've been making candles and testing them over and over and honestly i'm getting tired of it and if I didn't spend money on the supplies I have I would give up but I owe it to myself to try my hardest to make this work since I want this to be another source of income. Votives have been difficult for me...I now am using Ecosoya PB wax and have wick pins but I still get some "Guttering" I guess they call it. When I say "Guttering" I mean that it looks like a gutter runs off the top/side part of the votive even when burned in a snug votive holder. The guttering does seem to go away the longer I burn it but I plan on selling my candles so I don't want that to happen. I have tried the following wicks....44-24-18 burned very fast. HTP 41 did the worst and was junk after 45 min of burning. Eco 4 was ok but I did have guttering and like i said it did straighten out after burning a while.

Today my new wicks arrived...HTP 73...HTP 62... LX-16...LX 18...LX 14...I will be testing these soon.

Suggestions anyone??? I would very much appreciate it!!

Most crafters sell what they make because if gives them an excuse to make more. Because the joy comes from the making, formulating, experimenting. A lot of people see the popularity of candles or bath and body crafting and see nothing but dollar signs. They don't realize the years most of us put into making a quality consistent product. The testing process costs a lot in wax, wicks, fragrance oils (because different ones behave differently) etc. In the beginning of selling you're just going to be recouping your costs, not making a lot of profit.

I'm not saying this is you, but like Delphic said, if you don't love the experimentation now, you're really going to hate it when you HAVE to do it. :smiley2: